Now Reading
2014 Philippine National and Non Working Special Holidays Declared

Barely three months to go before 2014, Philippine President Benigno Aquino III already declared the 2014 Philippine National and Non Working Special Holidays.

Last September 25, President Aquino signed Proclamation No. 655 that declares the holidays that will be observed on 2014.

Among those that were added in the list this year is the Chinese New Year and formally declaring December 24 and 26.

 2014 Philippine Special Non-Working Special Holidays

In the said proclamation, Chinese New Year is included in the National Holidays because it is “one of the most revered and festive events celebrated not only in China but also in the Philippines”.

The Proclamation further adds, “The joint celebration is a manifestation of our solidarity with our Chinese-Filipino brethren who have been part of our lives in many respects as a country and as a people; 31 January 2014 may be declared as a special (non-working) day without detriment to public interest.”

Before, December 24 and 26 were always left for companies and organization to declare it special. But this year, these dates are considered a special non-working holidays nationwide. According to the Proclamation, the said holidays “aim to “foster closer family ties and enable our countrymen to observe Christmas more meaningfully.”

[ Image courtesy of ]

On the other hand, the proclamation of Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha will be issued after the dates of the said event are determined in accordance to the Islamic calendar.

Here are  2014 Philippine National and Non Working Special Holidays:

New Year’s Day | January 1 (Wednesday)
Araw ng Kagitingan | April 9 Wednesday
Maundy Thursday | April 17 Thursday
Good Friday | April 18 Friday
Labor Day | May 1 Thursday
Independence Day | June 12 Thursday
National Heroes Day | August 25 Monday
Bonifacio Day | November 30 Sunday
Christmas Day | December 25 Thursday
Rizal Day | December 30 Tuesday

Chinese New Year | January 31 (Friday)
Black Saturday | April 19 (Saturday)
Ninoy Aquino Day | August 21 (Thursday)
All Saints’ Day | November 1 (Saturday)

Additional special non-working day
December 24 | Wednesday
December 26  | Friday
Last Day of the Year | December 31 (Wednesday)

SPECIAL HOLIDAY (for all schools)
EDSA Revolution Anniversary | February 25 (Tuesday)

You can download a pdf copy of Proclamation No. 655 here.

With the declaration of these  2014 Philippine National and Non Working Special Holidays, people are given the opportunity to plan for the available four long weekends next year.

Here is the image of the 2014 List of National Holidays from Malacañan:

List of National Holidays 2014

2014 List of National Holidays. Image courtesy of

What's your reaction?
Love It
Hate It
About The Author
iNewMedia Blogger

You must log in to post a comment